Main content start

STS Student Academic Awards

The Program in Science, Technology, and Science grants three student awards each academic year. In addition, STS Honors Students have received Firestone and Golden Medal for Honors Theses in recognition of excellence in undergraduate research at Stanford.

STS Director’s Award for Advancing Social Justice in Science, Technology, and Medicine

Mary W. Jackson working at NASA Langley
Mary W. Jackson, first African American woman hired as an engineer at NASA.

This annual award recognizes an STS undergraduate or graduate student, teaching assistant, or staff member who made a special contribution to social justice for historically disadvantaged groups who are underrepresented in STEM fields. Awardees have helped others learn about such obstacles and injustices as racism, sexism, and homophobia, and/or helped to create lasting institutional change in support of equal access to economic, political, and social rights and opportunities. The award carries an honorarium of $500. 

STS Director’s Award Recipients
Monica Sircar, Ph.D. Candidate, Graduate School of Education2024
Nicole Mossmer, B.S. Degree in STS with a concentration in Communication & Media2023
Frank Mondelli, Ph.D. Candidate, East Asian Languages and Cultures2022
Nina Dewi Toft Djanegara, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Anthropology2022
Jasmine Reid, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Anthropology2021
Robert McGinn

The Robert McGinn Award

Named in honor of former STS Faculty Director Robert McGinn, this award is granted each year to the student with the highest grade point average among those graduating with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Science, Technology, and Society. Professor McGinn is Professor (Teaching) Emeritus of Management Science and Engineering (MS&E), and of Science, Technology, and Society (STS). His research explores ethical issues raised by developments in contemporary engineering and science, and ethical issues raised by the diffusion of technical innovations in society. More about Professor McGinn

Robert McGinn Award Recipients
REcent REcipients Year
Sierra Enge 2022
Natalie Hojel 2021
Hope Schmalzried 2020
Sophie Hamilton-Brochocka 2019
Maddie Bukaty 2018
Zabreen Akhtar Khan 2017
Jasmine Park 2016
Cody Behan 2015
Mailyn Fidler 2014
Andy Stuhl 2013


The Walter Vincenti Award

Named in honor of former STS Faculty Director  Walter G. Vincenti, this award is granted annually to the student with the highest grade point average among those graduating with a Bachelor of Science degree in Science, Technology, and Society. Professor Vincenti was one of two professors first hired for the Aeronautics and Astronautics Department at Stanford University and was a cofounder of STS, know then as the Values, Technology, and Society program. Listen to an interview with Professor Vincenti about his career

Walter Vincenti Award Recipients
REcent REcipients Year
Carolina Sculti 2022
Meghan McClure 2021
Brian Contreras 2020
Michelle Sonngin Bach 2019
Elizabeth Trinh 2018
Brian Wei 2017
Brandon Evans 2016
Daniel Knapp 2015
Gabriel Ben-Dor 2014
Ollie Khakwani 2013


Firestone and Golden Medals for Honors Theses

Firestone medal

Many of our STS Honors Program students have received undergraduate awards that recognize  the top 10 percent of Stanford honors theses completed in a given year. The Firestone Medal for Excellence in Undergraduate Research recognizes theses written in the social sciences, natural sciences and engineering. The Golden Medal for Excellence in Humanities and Creative Arts similarly distinguishes theses in the humanities or creative projects in the fine arts. Visit our Honors Theses page to see our Honors student award recipients and browse their theses.